The Wishful Traveler

Randolph Randy Camp at Travis Air Force Base

Randolph Randy Camp at Travis Air Force Base

Randolph Randy Camp at WBFO Radio with Reporter Eileen Buckley, October 2014.

Randolph Randy Camp at WBFO Radio with Reporter Eileen Buckley, October 2014.

I grew up poor in rural Spotsylvania County, Virginia. I was a nerd and absolutely loved going to school because it was an escape from my sometimes dismal surroundings. I loved reading books about different cultures around the world and I would dream about going to these exotic places one day.

When I’d joined the US Air Force (after high school) I was able to travel the globe and actually visit some of the places and cultures I’d read about as a child.

I was fascinated by the Australian Aborigines, and when I was fifteen years old, I took part in my own ‘walkabout’. Let me explain: When I was 15, I went on a ‘journey’ from my rural hometown in Virginia to the bustling City of Philadelphia. Well, the juvenile court system said that I was a ‘runaway, and you should’ve seen the look on their faces when I tried to explain to them that I was simply on ‘my walkabout’.

Thank God for the US Air Force because during my numerous overseas tours, I was very fortunate to visit one of my favorite places, which is Japan. Not only did I visit mainland Japan while traveling in the Air Force, but I also got a chance to see the Island of Okinawa, Japan as well.

I certainly know what it’s like to ‘want to see the world’ but you maybe stuck in a financial bind and unable to fly and travel at will. Please take a lesson from me and just go to your local public library and you’ll be amazed at how far those books will take you. – Randolph Randy Camp

Learn more at http://www.goodreads.com/randolphcamp

About Randolph Randy Camp

Randolph Randy Camp: Screenwriter, Blogger , Storyteller, Youth Advocate and Mentor : The country boy from the backwoods of Virginia with a thousand stories to tell.
This entry was posted in at risk youth, Author Randolph Randy Camp, coming of age, rcstories, Spotsylvania County, teen runaways, troubled teens, troubled youth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wishful Traveler

  1. Brenda Carter says:

    Randolph and I grew up in Spotsylvania, Virginia and yes….books were our way out. I am so proud of Randy’s writing. Instead of doing what some others turned from boredom he traveled and put his feelings in words.

  2. Books do serve as a escape from the real world! I enjoy reading your blog. Please continue to inspire others with your writing!

    Sincerely,
    Your cousin Marquis (Your aunt Eva’s great-grandson)

Leave a Reply

